Hundreds of unsung heroes from across the Island of Ireland descended on the Lyrath Hotel, Kilkenny, on Saturday for the 2019 IPB Insurance Pride of Place awards.


Dubbed the ‘Oscars of the Community Sector’ the Pride of Place awards is an annual competition organised by Co-operation Ireland and sponsored by IPB Insurance. It promotes and celebrates the best in community development and recognises the selfless efforts of people in making their local neighbourhoods better places to live, work and socialise.


It is an All-Island competition whereby local authorities from across the island nominate groups in their communities who they feel have made a significant contribution to improving their neighbourhood, working collectively. The competition culminates with a Gala Awards Ceremony.

This year marks the 17th anniversary of the awards which are being hosted in 2019 by Kilkenny County Council.

Pride of Place Awards Chairman Tom Dowling said: “These Awards continue to be as important as ever after all these years and the purpose of the awards has never changed. They are about recognising and celebrating the extraordinary, inspirational tireless work being done by communities all over the Island of Ireland as they strive to make their place a better place in which to live.”

Peter Sheridan Chief Executive Officer, Co-operation Ireland added: “Co-operation Ireland celebrates its 40th anniversary in 2019 and we have no other programme that embodies the charity’s ethos better than Pride of Place.

"The impact Pride of Place has had in towns and villages across the island since it started in 2003 cannot be underestimated, and its continuing success is down to the dedicated volunteers and their love of where they live.”


Pride of Place Cities Competition 2019


Category One - Urban Neighbourhoods under 1,000

Alexander St, Waterford                                                                                                                           

Category Two - Urban Neighbourhoods 1,000 – 2,000

Short Strand, Belfast    Runner Up

Ringsend (St Patricks Rowing), Dublin       Winner


Category Three - Urban Neighbourhoods over 2,000

Edenmore, Dublin              Runner Up                    

Belvoir Estate, Belfast                Winner



Category Four - Creative Place Initiative

Cork Community Artlink, Cork             Runner Up

Galway Community Circus, Galway         Winner


Category Five                                                             Community Wellbeing Initiative

Armagh Mens Shed         Armagh           Runner Up

Pink Ladies Cancer Support          Derry        Winner


Category Six                                                               Communities Reaching Out Initiative

Cork Sanctuary Runners Cork            Runner Up

City Connections              Belfast        Winner

Liberties Cultural Assoc Dublin          Winner


Pride of Place Main Competition 2019


Category 1 - 0 - 300

Fenagh Village   Leitrim              Runner Up

Ballyhale              Kilkenny          Runner Up

Athleague           Roscommon           Winner


Category Two - 300 – 1,000

Scotshouse, Monaghan            Runner Up

Ballinahown, Westmeath          Runner Up

Craanford, Wexford             Winner


Category Three - 1000 - 2000

Knock, Mayo                  Runner Up

Boyle, Roscommon             Runner Up

Whiteabbey, Antrim & NAbbey       Winner


Category Four - 2,000 – 5,000

Abbeyfeale, Limerick              Runner Up

Ballinrobe, Mayo                 Runner Up

Donegal Town, Donegal         Winner


Category Five - Over 5,000

Randalstown, Antrim & NAbbey      Runner Up

Ennis, Clare         Runner Up

Dromore , ABC         Winner






Category Six - Creative Place

Zero Waste, Kildare       Runner Up

Solohead Centenary, Tipperary        Runner Up

Girley Bog Meitheal, Meath        Winner


Category Seven - Community Wellbeing

The Boherbue Footpath, Cork         Runner Up

Fettercairn Health, South Dublin      Runner Up

Kilmacow, Kilkenny          Winner


Category Eight - Age Friendly

Cavan Branch Alzheimer’s, Cavan          Runner Up

Mayo Age Friendly, Mayo                      Runner Up

Deise Day Care Centre, Waterford            Winner                                                                                                                               


Category Nine - Community Tourism

Carlingford Community Forum, Louth    Runner Up

Sligo Food Trail, Sligo         Runner Up

Kerry Camino, Kerry    Winner


Category Ten - Housing Estates

Meadowlands, DLR           Runner Up

Whitestown Estate, Fingal       Runner Up

Ardrew Meadows, Kildare        Winner


Category Eleven - Islands & Coastal Communities

Greencastle, Donegal          Runner Up

Courtmacsherry, Cork         Winner


Category Twelve - Urban Neighbourhoods

Firhouse, South Dublin     Runner Up

Flemington, Fingal           Winner




Waterways, Galway 

Straide, Mayo   

Bloom HQ, Laois              

Knitted Knockers of Northern Ireland, ABC           

National Maritime Museum, DLR             

Birr, Offaly