2015 IPB Pride Of Place Winners Announced at Gala Awards Ceremony

2015 IPB Pride Of Place Winners Announced at Gala Awards Ceremony

2015 IPB Pride Of Place Winners Announced at Gala Awards Ceremony

2015 IPB Pride Of Place Winners Announced at Gala Awards Ceremony

The awards ceremony for the annual IPB Pride of Place Competition in association with Co-operation Ireland took place on Saturday (14 November) in Ennis, Co. Clare. More than 800 people from across the island filled the venue to hear the winners announced by RTE’s Ciana Campbell.


Forty-three groups, ranging from those in small rural communities to groups in inner-city housing estates, took winning or runner up positions in the main and cities competitions. A further six groups received Special Awards, while one local authority received a special Council Award.


Each year, practically every local authority on the island of Ireland nominate groups for doing exceptional work in their communities. This year 102 groups were nominated by their respective local authority. A panel of highly experienced judges visited every nominated group and then selected the winners and runners up. Since the first Pride of Place competition13 years ago, thousands of people have been recognised for the outstanding contribution they make to Irish society.


Last night’s winners received their awards from Councillor Mary Howard, Leas Cathaoirleach Clare County Council, Ronan Foley, Chief Executive IPB, John Bruton, former Taoiseach and deputy Chairman Co-operation Ireland, Tom Dowling, Chairman Pride of Place Committee, and George Jones, Chairman IPB.


Speaking at the event, IPB Insurance CEO, Ronan Foley said:


IPB Insurance is proud to be associated as title sponsors of the IPB Pride of Place Awards and more importantly what it represents. I firmly believe that it is essential that we recognise communities and the thousands of volunteers across the island of Ireland that give of themselves selflessly every day. As a mutual insurer that insures local authorities and their communities across the island of Ireland, these awards are an excellent fit. It is clear that working together and getting things done increases peoples’ pride in where they live and in turn helps build vibrant communities. All those nominated epitomise the sense of community spirit that can be seen all across Ireland, with people committed to creating positive civic change in their respective communities.

Tom Dowling, founder of the event and Chair of the Pride of Place Committee said:

”Even after 13 years, I and the rest of the judges continue to be amazed at how communities from all over the island demonstrate their amazing capacity to care for the people in their communities and respect their heritage, culture and environment.

“I also pay particular thanks to the local authorities all over the island of Ireland, Co-operation Ireland and IPB Insurance for their ongoing support for this unique community competition. ”


Peter Sheridan, Chief Executive, Co-operation Ireland said:

For Co-operation Ireland, the Pride of Place competition embodies the ethos of the organisation and it shows how working together ordinary people can make a real positive change on society. I congratulate everyone who participated in year’s competition, but especially the winners.


“We would not be able to run such a successful competition without the support of our sponsors IPB, our judging panel, the Pride of Place Committee and everyone who works to make it a success. I would like to thank Clare County Council for hosting this wonderful awards ceremony, and giving us the opportunity to celebrate each other’s achievements”.


Commenting on the Awards ceremony Mary Howard, Leas-Cathaoirleach Clare County Council said: "The event will bring together community representatives and local authorities from right throughout the island of Ireland in a celebration of community spirit. Irish people living abroad will be able to monitor the progress of their local participating community groups online".


Full list of winners and runners-up are shown below:


Cities Competition


Population Category - Neighbourhoods Under 1,000

Winner:          Cregagh, East Belfast


Population Category -  Neighbourhoods 1,000 – 2,000

Runner up:    Blessington Street Basin Community, Dublin City

Winner:          Ballyphehane, Cork City


Population Category - Neighbourhoods Over 2,000                 

Runner up:    Tramore, Waterford         

Winner:          The Poleglass Community, Belfast City


Age Friendly Community Initiative

Runner up:    Engage with Age – HOPE Project, Belfast City

Runner up:    Friendly Call, Cork City   

Winner:          Clareville Centre, Dublin City


Young People in the Community Initiative

Runner up:    Ballybane Traveller Integrated Youth Project, Galway City

Winner:          Meitheal Mara – Bádóireacht Initiative, Cork City    


Community Health Initiative 

Runner up:  West Community Garden, Galway City

Winner:       Deed Project, Derry City




Main Competition


Population Category Up tp 300

Runner up:    Cloone, Co Leitrim

Runner up:    Tinryland, Co Carlow

Winner:          Kilteely, Co Limerick


Population Category 300 - 1000

Runner up:    Ballyboughal, Fingal Council area

Runner up:    Kilteevan, Co Roscommon

Winner:          Doonbeg, Co Clare


Population Category 1000 - 2000

Runner up:    Carlingford, Co Louth 

Runner up:    Manorhamilton, Co Leitrim

Winner:          Castlemartyr, Co Cork


Population Category Over 2000                       

Runner up:    Listowel Town, Co Kerry                       

Runner up:    Randalstown, Co Antrim & Newtownabbey

Joint Winner:            Dunshaughlin, Co Meath

Joint Winner:            Strandhill, Co Sligo


Age Friendly Community Initiative

Runner up:    Ballinasloe Active Retirement Association, Co Galway

Runner up:    Strabane Community Project, Co Tyrone

Winner:          Carnew Community Care, Co Wicklow


Young People in the Community Initiative

Runner up:    Monkstown Community Association, Co Antrim

Runner up:    Tipperary Comhairle na nÓg, Co Tipperary

Winner:          Largy College YSI Group of 2014 -2015, Co Monaghan


Community Health Initiative

Runner up:    Jigsaw Offaly, Co Offaly

Runner up:    Tiglin, Co Wicklow

Winner:          Coalisland & Dungannon Neighbourhood Renewal Partnership – Health, Co Tyrone


Housing Estates Category

Runner up:    Scanlon Park, Co Limerick

Runner up:    Willow Park Estate, Co Westmeath

Winner:          Cois Cairn Estate, Dun Laoghaire Rathdown

Islands & Coastal Communities Category

Runner up:    Dungarvan & Helvick Head RNLI Fundraising Branch, Co Waterford

Runner up:    Ghort a’Choirce (Gortahork), Co Donegal

Winner:          Inis Mór, (Inishmore Island), Co Galway


Urban Neighbourhoods Category

Runner up:    Cabinteely, Dun Laoghaire Rathdown Council Area

Runner up:    Mayfield /Glengormley, Co Antrim

Winner:          Swinford, Co Mayo                               




Special Award          Edgeworthstown District Development Assoc. Co Longford

Special Award          Oaklands Lake, Co Wexford

Special Award          Roscommon Lions Club, Co Roscommon

Special Award          The Right Key, Co Down

Special Award          Kerry Traveller Health and Community Development Project HAZ, Co Kerry

Special Award          Mayo Masters GAA Team, Co Mayo


Council Community Engagement Award:

Winner:                    Derry and Strabane District Council