2014 Pride Of Place Winners Announced

2014 Pride Of Place Winners Announced

2014 Pride Of Place Winners Announced

More than 800 people filled Treacy's West County Hotel, Ennis, Co. Clare on Saturday (15th November) to hear the announcement of the winners and runners up in the 12th Annual IPB Pride of Place Awards in association with Co-operation Ireland. The awards were greeted with great celebration by representatives of community groups, from all over the island of Ireland, eagerly anticipating the announcement of winners. 

The Awards recognise cities, towns and communities that show respect and inclusion for every sector in local areas and creating communities to which the people are proud to say they belong. Forty six groups, ranging from small rural communities to inner city housing estates, won accolades in the Main and Cities Competition– all of them demonstrating the pride they have in their cities, towns and villages.

On hand at the awards to MC was RTE Sports Commentator Marty Morrissey who was joined on stage by Councillor Tony O’Brien, Leas Cathaoirleach of Clare County Council, Ronan Foley, Chief Executive IPB, Dr. Christopher Moran, Chairman, Co-operation Ireland and Tom Dowling, Chairman, Pride of Place, Paddy Crowe, Inis Oirr and George Jones, Chairman, IPB to present the winners with their awards.

Speaking at the event Co-operation Ireland CEO Peter Sheridan said “I congratulate everyone, and in particular the winners, who participated in year’s competition. Pride of place celebrates what people like about where they live, the people and the areas that make a community what it is." He continued, “Co-operation Ireland values this Pride of Place competition as a key driver in community development and for the past 12 years, it has been an integral part of our work. However, we would not be able to do it without the support of our sponsors IPB, our judging panel, the Pride of Place Committee and everyone who works to make it a success. I would like to thank Clare County Council for hosting this wonderful awards ceremony, and giving us the opportunity to celebrate each other’s endeavours.”

Ronan Foley, CEO IPB said:
”IPB Insurance is proud to be associated as title sponsors of the IPB Pride of Place Awards and more importantly what it represents. I firmly believe that it is essential that we recognise communities and the thousands of volunteers across the island of Ireland that give of themselves selflessly every day. As a mutual insurer that insures local authorities and their communities across the island of Ireland, these awards are an excellent fit. It is clear that working together and getting things done increases peoples’ pride in where they live and in turn helps build vibrant communities. All those nominated epitomise the sense of community spirit that can be seen all across Ireland, with people committed to creating positive civic change in their respective communities.”

Also in attendance was Tom Dowling, Chairman of Pride of Place, who said:
”After 12 years of Pride of Place communities all over the island of Ireland continue to demonstrate to the judges their amazing capacity to care for the people in their communities and respect their heritage, culture and environment. He also paid particular thanks to the local authorities all over the island of Ireland, Co-operation Ireland and IPB Insurance for their ongoing support for this unique community competition. ”

Councillor Tony O’Brien, Leas Cathaoirleach of Clare County Council, said:
“Clare has a proud tradition in this competition and the council was honoured to play host to community groups from all over the country. The Pride of Place Awards gave us an opportunity to showcase the county to a national audience and also celebrate the vital contributions made by community partnerships.” 

IPB Pride of Place, which was first piloted in the summer of 2003 and came from the Local Authority All-Island Steering Forum, aims to recognise and celebrate the vital contributions that communities make to society. The Pride of Place Competition is unique as it specifically recognises the involvement of the local community in all aspects of rural and urban regeneration, including promoting social cohesion, heritage and environmental awareness.
The Competition is run by Co-operation Ireland in conjunction with the Pride of Place Steering Committee and is sponsored by IPB.

The full list of winners is shown below:


Population Category 0 – 250
Winner: Glenfarne , Co Leitrim
Runner up: Kilberry , Co Meath
Runner up: Milford , Co Cork

Population Category 250 – 750
Joint Winner: Ardmore, County Waterford
Joint Winner: Belcarra Community Council, Co Mayo
Runner up: Corduff Raferagh, Co Monaghan

Population Category 750 – 1500
Winner: The Community of Tydavnet, Co Monaghan
Runner up: Strokestown, Co Roscommon
Runner up: Belclare/ Sylane, Co Galway

Population Category 1500 - 4000
Winner: Kenmare, Co Kerry
Runner up: Claregalway, Co Galway
Runner up: Gaoth Dhobhair (Gweedore), Co Donegal

Eco Initiative Category
Winner: The Cloughjordan Community, Co Tipperary
Runner up: Eco Tribes, Co Louth
Runner up: Tuamgraney Community Woodland, Co Clare

Community Innovation Category
Winner: Festina Lente, Co Wicklow
Runner up: Causeway Rural & Urban Network – Field of Dreams, Coleraine
Runner up: Clarisford Park, Co Clare

Community Health Category
Winner: New Ross Allotments and Men’s Shed, Co Wexford
Runner up: Innisfree Wheelers Cycling Club, Co Sligo
Runner up: Land of the Giants, Co Mayo

Housing Estates Category
Winner: Battery Heights, Co Westmeath
Runner up: Radharc na Cille Housing Estate, Co Limerick
Runner up: Cranmore Housing Estate, Sligo Town

Islands & Coastal Communities Category
Winner: Fanad, Co Donegal
Runner up: Goleen & District, Co Cork
Runner up: Chonamara Láir, Co Galway

Urban Neighbourhoods Category
Winner: Mulhuddart, Fingal Council Area
Runner up: The Southend Community, Wexford
Runner up: County Down Rural Community Network

Livcom Goleen, Co Cork
nominees Gaoth Dhobair (Gweedore), Co Donegal
Dalkey, Dun Laoghaire Rathdown
Chonamhara Láir, Co Galway
Ardmore, Co Waterford

Special Award The Community of Clones, Co Monaghan

Special Award Glasthule Buildings, Dun Laoghaire Rathdown Council Area

Special award Community Wellness Empowerment Leadership & Life Skills, Limerick City

Cities Competition

Population Category Under 1,000 - Cities
Winner: Clarawood Estate, Belfast)
Runner up: Galway’s West End

Population Category Over 1,000 - Cities
Winner: Doughiska/ Merlin Woods, Galway City
Runner up: Ligoniel, North Belfast

Eco Initiative Category - Cities
Winner: Eco Mattress Recycling Ltd, Dublin City
Runner up: Knocknaheeny/ Holyhill Community Garden, Cork City

Innovation Category - Cities
Winner: Something Special, Derry/ Londonderry
Runner up: Cork Academy of Music

Community Health Category - Cities
Winner: Waterford Sports Partnership
Runner up: Glen Resource Centre, Cork City

Urban Neighbourhoods Category - Cities
Winner: Armagh Neighbourhood Renewal Partnership
Runner up: Greater Village Area, South Belfast

Council Community Engagement Award: Winner: Clare County Council